Short Term Scientific Missions

As part of the COST Action IC1105 3D-ConTourNet, the possibility exists to support Short Term Scientific Missions (STSM) for promoting exchange visits between different institutions. The primary aim of a STSM is to contribute to the scientific objectives of the COST Action by allowing scientists to visit an institution or laboratory in another COST country.  The intentions of the STSM are to foster collaboration and strengthen existing networks, to learn new techniques or to take measurements using instruments or methods that are not available in the own institution. The duration of an STSM should be between at least one week (5 working days) and a maximum of 3 months.

STSM are particularly intended for young scientists and potential candidates for an STSM should be engaged in a program of research as a postgraduate student or postdoctoral fellow or be employed in an institution of a COST country.

A grant usually covers expenses for travel and subsistence. The financial contribution for an STSM is a fixed grant that is based on the budget request and the evaluation of the application by the STSM assessment panel. The total expenses for an STSM shall not exceed EUR 2500.

 A detailed description of the objectives of STSM and the application process can be found in Chapter 6 of the COST Vademecum Part 1 – COST Action. STSM applications must follow item 6.3 “STSM – process” of this document and applicants must use the on-line registration tool for registering their request for a STSM . For starting the evaluation process, the following documents have to be sent to the STSM coordinator:

  • COST application form
  • Applicant’s CV
  • Motivation letter
  • Work plan
  • Invitation from host
  • Support letter from home institution

An overview of the criteria and rules for the assessment of STSM applications can be found at the page Assessment of STSM applications.

An overview of already granted STSM can be found at the page Granted STSM.

STSM Coordinator: Jürgen Seiler

STSM Evaluation Board
Jürgen Seiler
Lucian Mocanu
Paulo Nunes
Marten Sjostrom
Marek Domanski